Check, Check, Check…

It was a lovely meal out on Saturday night but when we arrived back in the van I was exhausted.  I’ve become used to being in bed in my tent at around sunset or sooner if like tonight it is raining.

I am often fast asleep by 9PM.

This morning I felt flustered, so much to do: check I have all the maps for the next leg, check I have all the ointments, creams and medications, top up the food supplies, top up the whisky flask, check I have enough clean underwear,  charge the Iphone, Ipad and battery pack, get batteries for the GPS, send the data files to Malcolm the map master so that he can update the online maps, have shower, have breakfast……….it was all too much!

…………………………………………………………………………………..

Ebbor Gorge was lovely this morning and the blue bells were putting on a lovely display, if you are very, very quiet you can hear them ringing. (Not really but it’s a nice thought).

map of Mendip forest with ley lines marked in pencil
Ley lines 

Around Priddy I noticed that my old map was covered with pencil lines. These were from about 30 years ago when I was looking for alignments of ancient sites. The area is rich with burial mounds and earthworks; it’s a dowser’s paradise.  I went to Priddy years ago during the gypsy horse fair and remember listening to an old boy who was leaning on a hurdle, watching the sheep auction and singing to himself.

‘Step it out Mary my fine daughter,

step it out Mary if you can

Step it out Mary my fine daughter

Show your legs to the country man’

carving of bird of prey in a church with large quartz crystal at its feet
It looks very pagan – and just down the road is Pagans Hill Farm!

…………………………………………………………………………………..

The rain has held off till about 6 pm tonight – I could feel it in the air so as soon as I found a suitable pitch, I put the tent up.  Just it the nick of time – as I lie writing this it is pouring. There is, however, something satisfying about being snug in a tent when the weather is bad.

I just need the rain to stop in the night and the wind to dry the tent before morning.

Nite nite.

2 thoughts on “Check, Check, Check…

Leave a Reply

