Rainy End To My 500 Mile Point

I would walk 500 miles and I would walk 500 more. 

Yes today I have walked a total of 506.8 miles according to my trusty old Garmin Dakota GPS. Most of those miles must have been in the right direction as I am noticing that the beer here is served with a ridiculously frothy head and people have funny accents – I must be up North. I think it hit me when I walked over the bridge crossing the Manchester Ship Canal. ‘Crumbs’, I thought that sounds a long way from Cornwall!

I enjoyed the lovely flat towpath walking and the rural Glazebrook trail which was wonderfully well way-marked (see Cheshire it can be done) and had some lovely new kissing gates that were big enough to cope with a man and his backpack (many are too small and require some interesting contortions to negotiate).

 Well done Lancashire but can you please sort out your weather! This afternoon, after my lovely pub lunch which included minty mushy peas ( see I really am up North), the skies opened and it rained and rained and rained. The lovely paths were turned into slippery mud baths and slithered all over the place and I started getting depressed. I’m trying to be gentle on my slightly injured feet and sliding around in mud is no good for them or any other part of my anatomy for that matter. So I’ve booked into the nearest accommodation – The Greyhound Hotel in Leigh.

My apologies for the lack of photographs today but I didn’t want to get my phone wet.

I called in the little village Post Office in Glazebrook to get some batteries and it turned out that the post master had walked from John O’Groats to Land’s End a few years ago. He did it in 33 days but without carrying anything other that a small knapsack. ‘It nearly killed me’, he said, ‘took me six months to recover’. ‘I couldn’t have done it with one of those’, he said pointing at my backpack. He also confirmed my thoughts that working my way up the country rather that down is the more sensible option, ‘you don’t get the wind in your face’, he said.

The flashes of lightning and claps of thunder outside my hotel window reassure me that I am better in here than in my tent.

I wonder what tomorrow will bring?

13 thoughts on “Rainy End To My 500 Mile Point

  1. Paul Ferbrache

    Hi Graham, that’s a great milestone that have passed.
    Last night while sitting in my warm bed I finsihed reading your book and thought of you regularly sleeping in a small tent in the wind and rain on your own.
    I must say that I really enjoyed your book and will definately be re-reading it soon.
    Keep up the walking and good luck up north…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul Ferbrache

    A great milestone Graham, keep it up. Last night while sitting in my nice warm bed I finished reading your book and thought of you sleeping in a tent in rain and wind. I have to say, I really enjoyed reading your book and I will certainly read it again in the future.

    Like

  3. Anonymous

    I notice that you are going along the Edinburgh to Glasgow canal at some point. It used to be called the Clyde and Forth canal. My Great Grandfather worked there as a boatman in the 1800s. The village he and my Grandmother lived in was Muiravonside. It’s claim to fame (!!) was that the woman involved with Burke and Hare came from Muiravonside – allegedly! The criminal duo were Irish navvies who must have been working on the canal.
    Look out for the Kelpies – I don’t think you will miss them.
    It has been colder here than it was in winter with hail stones falling today and snow in Bodmin on Tuesday (according to Tescos delivery man).
    I am enjoying my walk – by proxy – from Landsend to John O’Groats. Good luck.
    GQ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great to see your progress Graham, it’s such a long way away! The tow paths should be a welcome respite from the upsies & downsies of field and stile’s. You must be nearing Eccles cake country? Lovely. The swallows are back at the museum, not sure if nesting yet, and I’m enjoying the daily progress of tadpoles and all sorts of grubsandbugs in our pond, the primroses & bluebells have been phenomenal this year, hopefully once we pass Beltane it’ll be sun all the way, but remember cast nere a clout till may be out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Hannah,
      Thanks for the message. I have been noticing the swallows and swifts around here- it seem strange with snow around!
      It will soon get hilly again but as you say I am enjoying the tow paths and river walks. My average distance go up to – today I did 17 miles.
      Just wish the weather would warm up so I could cast a few clouts.
      Hope all is well at the museum
      Lots of love. G

      Like

  5. Sorry about the weather ‘up norf’ lol. Its still a shock to me and I left Cornwall 8 years ago. Shame you werent trecking near Sheffield. We could have met up with you . I dont know if you remember, but it was me that used to supply your bumper stickers at the museum.
    Here’s hoping the weather starts to get a little warmer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

