A Kinky Path

As I stayed in a B&B last night my start was a little later than usual. I was on the road about 9 .15 and the sun was already high in the sky and warm.  I’ve been walking south west  most of the day  to Hawick.  Yes, south west, the wrong direction but there are no obvious paths heading towards Edinburgh so I had to incorporated this weird kink into the plan. It felt very strange after 7 weeks of heading  north-ish.

I’m very impressed with the lovely rolling hills and beautiful rivers of the borders and the friendly attitude of every one that I’ve met.

I just met a lovely local fox. I think he was up to no good checking out the newborn lambs but he did look very handsome.

I’ve pitched my tent next to a trig point (my first Scottish one!) on the hills above Hawick with stunning views in all directions.

bluebells on my path
bluebells on my path

It’s now 8 o’clock and the sun is getting low in the sky and as it does I can feel the temperature dropping.  It might be a cold night.

If I get up early I should make Selkirk for a late breakfast/ early lunch.

Leave a Reply

