Watten Amazing Place

A short day of flat walking along the quiet back lanes of Caithness.

Again I have been walking in ancient footsteps – the way has been dotted with hut circles and standing stones. The juxtaposition between the 3000-year-old standing stones and the modern wind farm is an interesting one.

It’s been a short walk because we chose a nice loch-side wild camping location at Watten for me to meet up with the motorhome. I’m not keen on walking along roads other than country lanes and Kerriann is not keen on driving Dickie along the very narrow roads which means there are not many places where we can meet up.

Loch Watten looked ideal on the maps and when I arrived after some 4 hours Kerriann had found a lovely flat place to park in the shade, alongside the loch.
So today I’ve walked about 8 miles but tomorrow I will be walking around 18 miles to a campsite just 2 miles from John o’Groats. On Saturday, all being well, I should complete the last two miles of my marathon journey.
I’m not sure how I will feel about finishing; mixed emotions. Sadness, pride, elation? We’ll see.

5 thoughts on “Watten Amazing Place

  1. Hi Kerriann and Graham
    your almost there ,what an incredible journey you have been on ,meeting some special people along the way .i have so enjoyed the blog and photos and wish you well Graham on the last leg.
    Hi kerriann
    Bet you wont let Graham take the wheel now that you and dickie have become so close .i look farward to a cream tea on your return .
    lots of love Helen Andy stellaxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul

    followed your journey with great interest since meeting you on Hadrians wall , enjoy the final days , I will miss your updates , its been superb reading them each time you have an update , good luck in all your future adventures – you certainly inspired my non walking friend and hes now booking us both to walk the west highland way

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Paul, you will love the West Highland Way. It was one of the highlights of my walk. I am absolutely delighted that my efforts are inspiring others.Get in touch if I can offer any help or advice when you are preparing for the WHW. Cheers Graham

      Like

Leave a Reply

