Day Zero – April 15th 2024

And we’re off…

After many days of preparation, packing, and a little bit of sewing (with the help of Kerriann) I’ve finally headed off to start my walk along the Southern Upland Way.

Just a few essentials
Kerriann making a bag for my cooking pot

It was an early start; 6:30 am at Christchurch Railway Station, and a very long journey. Christchurch to London Waterloo, tube to Euston, train to Glasgow, Glasgow to Prestwick, then train to Ayre, coach to Stranraer, coach late so missed bus to Portpatrick so got a taxi. Phew! I arrived after about 12 hours travel to a closed restaurant in my hotel so was directed to a rather perfect pub for dinner.

Screenshot

As I sat at the The Crown having a casserole and a pint and studying the Southern Upland Way guidebook, I realised that I could walk the first half mile of my trek on my way back to my hotel. So that is what I did. I took in the beautiful village and harbour and I’ll let the photos do the talking.

Portpatrick harbour view

stunning coastline similar to Cornwall

I’ll start the actual walk tomorrow, April 16th. The weather is looking good at the moment so I’m hoping it will stay that way.

Off for another adventure…

13 responses to “Day Zero – April 15th 2024”

  1. Just reading about your train journey has left me exhausted!

    Good to see the start is well signed. Enjoy.

    Nick

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Malcolm & Lynn Biddick Avatar
    Malcolm & Lynn Biddick

    Looking forward to following your latest adventure. Hope the weather is kind for you. Good luck and stay safe.
    Malcolm and Lynn.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My very best wishes and ..enjoy your long walk

    Anne

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looking forward to reading/seeing all about it!
    Ann and Andy

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good luck, keep us posted!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fabulous! Cannot wait for the story to unfold.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tack care, good luck , and most of all enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. that’s a nice way to start. good luck, enjoy !

       Andy Helen,

    Liked by 1 person

  9. brilliant start on another epic stroll. Look forward to the updates

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Best wishes for your walk. I did it in 2021 and thought it was one of the best National Trails. Good luck with finding the kists with their hoard!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kathryn

      Spent hours looking for the first Kist/hoard – gave up in the end!

      Im really enjoying the walk so far , just need the weather to hold out.

      Graham

      Like

  11. Wishing you the very best of luck, Graham! I’ll be following your tales like always. All the best and no falling over this time.

    Richard

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Way to go Graham- good luck- will be thinking of you – och aye the noo!

    Cheryl n John

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment