Day 12 – 27th April

Well, I was a little worried about being so close to the railway line last night and my fears were well founded. I felt the rumble, heard the roar, and felt the ground shake too late to be bothered moving. The trains stopped around 11pm so it wasn’t too bad.

this sheep cheered me up

In the end I actually slept quite well but awoke to a heavy frost. I always try to pitch my tent so that it catches the early morning sun but it still takes a long time to defrost. This morning my patience ran out so I packed it away wet and stowed it on the outside of my pack so as not to risk getting my bedding damp.

Moffat sheep wearing a traffic cone

It was a short three miles or so in to Moffat where I had a huge breakfast and purchased some gas. Moffat is a town with loads of quaint independent shops and I loved mooching around but I had a trail to return to so I semi-reluctantly headed off on the next leg of my journey.

back on the trail

The weather was being kind so when I was presented with the choice of the high route or the low route (a very Scottish choice) I took the high route. It was fantastic but extremely hard work (my feet and legs haven’t forgiven me yet). Despite the gruelling terrain I highly (see what I did there) recommend this high route.

perfect eagle country

I was hoping to see golden eagles today as, apparently, they hang out here – but no luck today.

Over Phawhope bothy

After my experience last Saturday with drunken revellers enjoying the bothy and having to move on I nervously approached my next target, Over Phawhope bothy. As it is, once again, a Saturday night I thought I might be met with the same problem but I couldn’t see any cars or any smoke rising from the chimney.

great place to dry my tent

What luck! This gorgeous little cottage is all mine – for tonight anyway. There’s a woodburner so I collected and sawed up firewood for some welcome warmth and draped my wet tent over the wood stove to dry out.

view from my window

This is such a cosy spot with an amazing view out the window – and there is even a composting toilet!

I’ve moved from Dumfries and Galloway to The Scottish Borders

One response to “Day 12 – 27th April”

  1. Hi Graham

    wow amazing scenery great photos on todays blog ,really enjoying it.

    all the best Graham ,keep going

    love Helen Andyxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment