Day 14 – 29th April Two Weeks In

Its Raining!

at least the snail is enjoying the rain

I thought I’d wait for the rain to stop and for the wind to dry out the tent but it just wasn’t going to happen. I enjoyed the lie in but by 10 o’clock l decided to adopt the wet weather strategy, i.e., pack my backpack inside the tent, take the inner tent down and pack it in a separate dry bag then whip down the outer tent and store it on the outside of the backpack. With that all done I set out into the rain.

a bit grim

It didn’t stop so I took what should have been a 1/2 mile diversion into Innerleithen in search of comfort food. I found Loulabelle’s cafe and the staff kindly knocked me up bacon and sausage butties and a huge pot of tea.

The diversion was in fact nearer 1.5 miles. Lesson learned – never believe road sign distances.

So it is now two weeks since I started out on the SUW and I’ve loved every moment of it (even the rain – sort of). I’ve not set any targets but a glance at the map suggests that I’ve walked about two thirds of the way across Scotland. If I carry on at this rate I should finish in about a week.

Thus far I’ve only wild camped and used a few bothies but if this rain continues I may have to use a B&B or hostel to dry out.

Today I walked about 15.74 miles in the rain.

interesting carved stone

My total so far is 199.94 miles which includes all my diversions like today’s trip into Innerleithen.

Sorry about the lack of photos today but the rain stopped me getting my phone out.

4 responses to “Day 14 – 29th April Two Weeks In”

  1. Hi Graham

    I just said to Andy not everyone could do this ,and he looked up from his paper and just said ,we know how special he is.hope you dried out.

    love Helen Andyx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thats nice! Hope you two are good.
      Will give you a bell when I get home.

      Like

  2. Sorry tto hear about the rain Graham but if it helps it’s been pouring down in Tintagel as well.

    I know this won’t get to you till later than today but I’m thinking from my past of sleeping under canvas at Beltane, so have a great time and I look forward to reading your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks, happy Beltane!

      Like

Leave a comment